Georgia Tech’s College of Architecture dean’s chair will bear the name of one of Georgia Tech’s most distinguished graduates, renowned architect John C. Portman Jr., ARCH 1950, Honorary Ph.D. 2012. Dean Steven P. French will be the first to hold the chair. “The Portman Dean’s Chair is transformative,” said French. “It is absolutely indispensable to reaching our strategic goals, but it also serves as an inspirational legacy to generations of architects in the Georgia Tech community.”

Dr. Catherine Ross, director of Georgia Tech's Center for Quality Growth and Regional Development (CQGRD) and professor of city and regional planning, delivered a keynote address to the "Connected Places: Freight Movement and Megaregions Peer Exchange."

Bruce Stiftel, chair of the School of City and Regional Planning, was recently appointed to a United Nations (U.N.) expert group set up to advise U.N.-Habitat on the content of new international guidelines for urban and territorial planning intended for adoption by UN member states at the Habitat III gathering in 2016.

The College of Architecture recently announced the addition of five new professors in its Schools, along with some reappointments and changes in program leadership.

College of Architecture Appoints Long Time Faculty Member Nancey Green Leigh Associate Dean of Research