As globalization transforms economies around the world and more people move into urbanized areas, economic and population growth is increasingly converging. Between now and 2050, more than half of the population growth and as much as two-thirds of economic growth in the United States is projected to occur in interconnected areas known as megaregions. These megaregions—large networks of metropolitan centers and their surrounding areas tied together by economic, environmental, and infrastructure relationships—will serve as the foci of American economic activity.

Applying the contiguity and proximity conditions and boundary conditions for the identified functional regions, ten megaregions are identified, including Cascadia, California, Arizona, Central Plains, Texas Triangle, Florida, Piedmont Atlantic, Midwest, Northeast, and DC-Virginia (Figure 1). The ten megaregions are the results of incorporating both physical and functional relationships between regions into the identification process and considering the areas of influences of core areas.



PNG Image (8.78 MB)
JPG Image (970 KB)
PDF File (832 KB)
GIS Shapefiles (Aggregated: 32,651 KB)
GIS Shapefiles (Disaggregated: 10,211 KB)